LR Public Safety Commission Meeting Minutes

Meeting Date: March 21, 2024, 6pm

Prior to the Roll Call, Little Rock Mayor Frank Scott, Jr. addressed the commission members and those guests in attendance. During those comments, he thanked all those on the commission for their willingness to serve. Mayor Scott also emphasized the importance of the Public Safety Commission providing a link between law enforcement and the public to continue improving the lives of those living in the City of Little Rock. He emphasized that the role of the Citizen's Review Board was complaint-driven, and that the role of the Public Safety Commission was public policy and platform-driven. We will serve as the public's voice in the process of community policing. "You can't have community policing without a voice from the community," he said.

Mayor Scott then advised that he would be leaving to go and honor the Muslim community of Little Rock at an event they were having at the same time. He then turned the meeting back over to Christopher Harvey, Senior Advisor to the Mayor, for the business of the meeting.

I. Roll Call

a. Members present included: Carolyn Hobbs (Ward 1), Seth Ward III (Ward 3), James (Jim) Doyle (Ward 4), Johnny Gilbert, Jr. (Ward 5), Kambrei Charles (Ward 6), William Farmer (Ward 7), Zeornee' Herts (At-Large), Rev. Billy Burris (At-Large), and Anna Morshedi (At-Large) – via Zoom. Absent was Willie Davis (At-Large). There are three remaining positions to be filled with applications currently being reviewed.

II. Opening Comments

- a. Commissioners present followed the same order as the Roll Call to make opening comments, all sharing their personal experience in the city and their desire to serve in this capacity. Everyone shared how they were thankful to be a part of this commission and its efforts to improve the City of Little Rock.
- b. Staff Liaison Mr. Harvey again thanked everyone and shared the importance of this commission to help build a bridge between law enforcement and the public to ensure a safer community for all.
- c. Department Liaison Assistant Chief of Police Troy Ellison shared his experience in the city and as a 26-year veteran of the Little Rock Police

Department. He expressed gratefulness for all commissioners willing to serve in this capacity. He looks forward to what this new commission can provide as input for a better and safer city.

d. Department Liaison Chief Deputy City Attorney Lynette Perez shared her experience as an attorney and her experience in several communities around the country. Most recently she relocated to Little Rock in 2020 with family. Ms. Perez then shared her role and some ground rules as it relates to meetings, communication and other vital information including the FOIA regulations in Arkansas.

III. New Business

- a. <u>Officer Elections</u> During this segment of the meeting voting was held by the commissioners via nominations, voting by paper ballot, and roll call verbal votes from the commissioners for the positions of Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary.
 - Chair Nominees were Willie Davis and Johnny Gilbert, Jr. Mr. Davis received 5 votes. Mr. Gilbert received 4 votes. Mr. Davis was confirmed as Chair.
 - ii. Vice Chair Nominees were Johnny Gilbert, Jr. and Rev. Billy Burris.
 Mr. Gilbert received 8 votes. Rev. Burris received 1 vote. Mr. Gilbert was confirmed as Vice Chair.
 - Secretary There was a single nominee, Zeornee' Herts. A verbal vote was held with all in favor. Ms. Herts was confirmed as Secretary.
- b. <u>Term Limits Drawing</u> The next order of business was for each commissioner to draw a number to determine the length of their initial term, as this is a newly formed body, as established in Ordinance 22, 316, Section 5. This will provide a staggering process for renewal/exchange of commission members to maintain continuity. Results of the drawing are as follows:

Carolyn Hobbs – 1 year Seth Ward III – 1 year James Doyle – 2 years Johnny Gilbert, Jr. – 1 year Kambrei Charles – 3 years William Farmer – 3 years Zeornee' Herts – 1 year Rev. Billy Burris – 2 years Willie Davis – 4 years (drawn by Asst. Chief Ellison) Anna Morshedi – 2 years (drawn by Atty. Perez)

- c. <u>Bylaws Review and Adoption</u> The commission then moved to review and adopt the bylaws as drafted by the city and provided prior to meeting for review. Mr. Ward offered the motion to accept the bylaws. The motion was seconded by Mrs. Hobbs. A verbal vote was taken and all commissioners voted in favor of accepting the bylaws as printed.
- IV. <u>Citizen Communications</u> There were none this evening. Anyone who would like to speak during the Citizen Communications portion of the meetings must fill out a card prior to the beginning of the meeting. There will be a maximum of 7 with 3 minutes each allowed at each meeting. Commissioners can send any items that they would like to discuss at the next meeting to Christopher Harvey prior to the meeting date.

Prior to adjournment, Mrs. Hobbs asked for clarification on remarks made early in the meeting by Mrs. Perez regarding conversations by the commission members outside of the public meeting setting. Mrs. Perez restated that there must be a quorum (6) at our meetings before anything can be discussed. The business of the commission must be held in a public setting. Commission members are not to discuss any specific agenda items or business of the commission outside of these meetings. This does not bar members from socializing together at events as long as no official business is discussed.

V. <u>Adjournment</u> It was moved by Rev. Burris and seconded by Mr. Charles that the meeting be adjourned. The meeting ended at 7:12 pm

Submitted: March 22, 2024. Zeornee' Herts, Commission Secretary