Starting in 2019 the Mayoral Appointed Sustainability Commission will become a City Commission. Applications for the Sustainability Commission are due by December 21st, 2018. You can use the general application found on this webpage to apply. 


Mayor’s Sustainability Commission

The Mayor’s Sustainability Commission was established in 2008 to advise the City on sustainable practices. Since that time, the Commission has worked with various groups in the City to develop new sustainable policies that have positively impacted city government and the residents of Little Rock.

The Commission founded and organizes the Little Rock Sustainability Summit, which features prominent experts and elected officials who have spoken about their successes in environmental stewardship across the country. The Commission spearheaded a sustainability assessment that made eight key recommendations for the City to become more eco-friendly. In 2010, the Commission helped promote the City’s Green Building Incentive Program that provided financial incentives for residential buildings that are built to ecologically friendly standards. In 2011, the Commission drafted guidelines for expanding Farmers’ Markets throughout the City, so that fresh produce can be made available to residents in all parts of our community. In 2015, the Complete Streets Ordinance and Property Assessed Clean Energy (PACE) Ordinance were passed by the Board of Directors with the support of the Sustainability Commission. In 2015, the Sustainability Commission unveiled the City's first sustainability plan at the 2015 Sustainability Summit. The City of Little Rock sustainability plan, titled the "2020 Sustainability Roadmap," has 17 goals that the Commission is currently working to fulfill. 

To view the Sustainability Commission Bylaws click here

For more information about this commission, contact Tabitha "Faith" Mullins at (501) 371-4586 or

You can also stay updated with the Sustainability Commission and other things related to sustainability by liking and following the "Sustain Little Rock" facebook page:  


There will be two more meetings in 2018. 

The Energy Committee will meet at 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, December 11th at Diamond Bear brewery. 

The Natural Environment/Quality of Life committee will meet at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, December 12th at Fletcher Library. 

The Sustainability Commission meets the fourth Friday of every month at the Willie L. Hinton Resource Center located at 3805 W. 12th Street. Meetings are open to the public. 

2018 Schedule: 

January 26th, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 

February 23rd, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

March 29th, the Ninth Annual Sustainability Summit from 8:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 

April 27th, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

May 18th, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 

June 22nd, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. This meeting will be held at ACE Glass, located at 3101 Dugan Street, Little Rock 72206. 

July, Summer break  

August 24th, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

September 28th, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

October 26th, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 

November 30th, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. Meeting Location: Little Rock Landfill 


Robert Airo  Niki Evansingston
Frances Frazier Rachel Furman
Neil Gillespie Chris Hiryak
Ron Hughes Andrew Jester
Uta Meyer Randy Pierce
Linda K. Smith Clint Whitley
Karen Zuccardi

Chair: Neil Gillespie,

Vice-Chair: Randy Pierce,

Secretary: Linda K. Smith,


Currently the Commission is working in alignment with the City of Little Rock 2020 Sustainability Roadmap. Our five committees mirror the five tenants of the Roadmap and serve to promote the goals within each tenant. If you would like to assist one of the committees in achieving the Roadmap goals please contact the committee chair, to find out the current committee meeting times and locations. To view the 2020 Sustainability Roadmap click here

Energy: Robert Airo,

Working Goals: 

- Property Assessed Clean Energy (PACE) program education

- Energy Efficiency of City Facilities

- Fleet Carbon Reduction

- Port Authority shingle pile solution

- LED city streetlights

Built Environment: Clint Whitley,

Working Goals:

- New Residential Energy Label  

- Promoting Green Roofs

Economic Development: Neil Gillespie,

Working Goals: 

- Gain new members

- Sustainable Business Recognition Program 

The Natural Environment and Quality of Life Committee: Uta Meyer,

Working Goals: 

- Policy development for Banning Yard Waste Plastic Bags

- Policy development for Tree Canopy Growth and Protection 

- Rain garden/barrel development

- Incentives for rain gardens

- Ideas for tactical urbanism (pop-up BikePed improvement projects)

- Stormwater regulations and policy development 



Click below for information on other commissions:  

Bicycle Friendly Community Committee

Sister Cities Commission