

Little Rock Sustainability Commission Minutes of Meeting for January 27, 2017 at 11:30pm Willie L. Hinton Neighborhood Resource Center

1. Chair Ron Hughes called the meeting to order at 11:30 pm. A quorum was present.

2. Attendance

- a. **Commissioners Present:** Ron Hughes, Neil Gillespie, Chris Franke, Chris Hiryak, Linda K. Smith, Clint Whitley, Uta Meyer, Randy Pierce, Neil Gillespie, Robert Airo
- b. **Commissioners Absent:** Charles Vann, Karen Zuccardi, Kathleen Lambert, Ben Brenner, Grejuana Dennis, Rachel Furman, Ron Hope (term up?), Leisa Wamsley
- c. **Staff and Guests Present:** Faith Mullins, City of LR Sustainability Intern; Tony Bozynski, City of Little Rock; Chuck Givens, City of LR; Bruce McMath, Arkansas Chapter of International Dark Sky Association;

3. Committee Reports

- a. **Energy** Robert Airo. Needs more members.
- b. **Built Environment** Clint Whitley, Green Roofs. Consultant who maintains Clinton Presidential Center Green Roof has visited and is working on possibility of Green Roof on City Jail building.
- c. Economic Development-
- d. Natural Environment -Includes Green City Operations and Urban Ag Task Force
- e. **Quality of Life,** Uta- Fourche Creek Cleanup will be held Mar. 11, Interstate Park, 8-Noon. Drain Smart beginning 3rd year.
- f. Communications- Faith Mullins will update website with list of commissioners and fix links.
- g. **Sustainability Summit-** Faith reported will be March 30 at Robinson Center. Registration is open. Need submittals for Sustain the Rock Awards.

4. Old Business

- a. Dark Sky- Bruce McMath distributed a handout and answered questions on a Dark Sky Association proposal to the LR Sustainability Commission to limit outdoor light pollution from city operated fixtures and reduce energy usage. They would like a full review of city lighting plan and how improvements can be made in coordination with Entergy plans. *No action was taken*.
- b. Energy Code Ron Hughes discussed need for Little Rock to adopt an amendment to state Residential Energy Code to require HERS rating with blower door testing on new construction. Tony will look into ordinance language and background. City of Fayetteville has similar. *No action was taken*.

5. New Business:

- a. Commissioner Chris Franke is moving to Fayetteville and will be resigning from this group, leaving open his Vice Chair position.
- 6. Elections- Using Consent Based Governance, the Commissioners unanimously elected:

Chair: Neil Gillespie Vice Chair: Randy Pierce Secretary: Linda K. Smith

7. Next Meeting- February 24, 2017 at 11:30 Willie L. Hinton Neighborhood Resource Center.

Important Dates:

February 23, 2017 Sustain the Rock Nominations due

March 11, 2017 City Wide Cleanup

March 30, 2017 Little Rock Sustainability Summit, Robinson Center