Beginning January 1

Arkansas Tire Retailers

New Fees Charged for Rim Removal



New Fees to be Charged Per Rim Removal

Beginning January 1, 2018, Arkansas law requires tire retailers to charge \$3 as the new rim removal fee for tires. The \$3 fee is for all tires removed from the rim and replaced by a new tire. The fee for rim removal and replacement with a used tire is \$1. (A \$3 fee shall be charged by commercial tire retailers for new tires as part of fleet services.)



New Fees to be Calculated Per Rim Removal

These new fees should be used to calculate the remittance on your monthly Waste Tire Return Form (WST-1). This is a new form, and should be sent monthly to the Department of Finance & Administration (DF&A). Do not send the WST-1 form to the Inter-District Tire Program (Regional Recycling District). A sample form may be downladed at TireFeeProgram.com.

NOTE: The new rim removal fees are no longer determined by the size of the tire. More information on fees and reporting requirements is at TireFeeProgram.com.



What You Get to Keep Per Rim Removal

Remember, tire retailers may deduct 5% per tire from the \$3 and \$1 fees charged to customers, before remitting to the Miscellaneous Tax Section of DF&A. The net amounts to be remitted are \$2.85 per rim removal for new tires, and \$.95 per rim removal for used tires.



For More Information

The tire program was created by Act 317 of 2017, and Regulation No. 36 – Used Tire Recycling and Accountability Program. For more information on your requirements and responsibilities under the new program, please go to TireFeeProgram.com. Or, call the Miscellaneous Tax Section of DF&A at 501-682-7187.



THE INTER-DISTRICT WASTE TIRE MANAGEMENT PROGRAM

REGIONALRECYCLING.ORG

For more information, go to: TireFeeProgram.com