Ambulance Authority

The Ambulance Authority (Emergency Medical Health Care Facilities Board) was created by Arkansas Code Annotated 14-137-108 and Little Rock City Code 5-26 et seq. - Ordinance No. 14,062.  Each of the Authority's eight (8) members serve five (5)-year terms.  Five (5) members are from Little Rock, two (2) from North Little Rock and one (1) from Pulaski County.  The duties of the authority are to perform duties and responsibilities consistent with the Arkansas Municipal Ambulance Licensing Act.

The Ambulance Authority meets the fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:30 AM in the MEMS office at 1101 West 8th Street.

For More Information

Jon Swanson, Executive Director
Metropolitan Emergency Medical Services
P.O. Box 2452
Little Rock, AR 72203-2452
(501) 301-1400


AUTHORITY: Arkansas Code Annotated 14-137-108 - Little Rock City Code, Sec. 5-26 et. seq. - Ordinance No. 14,062
TERM: Five (5) years (NOTE: ACA 14-137-108 (a)(4) allows a Board Member to succeed himself)
MEMBERS: Seven (7):  Little Rock (5) and North Little Rock (2)
DUTIES: To perform duties and responsibilities consistent with the Arkansas Municipal Ambulance Licensing Act.
SELECTION: The Ambulance Authority is composed of the following:

One (1) Practicing Arkansas licensed doctor residing in Little Rock (Ordinance #15,763)
One (1) Attorney
One (1) Health Care Administrator
One (1) Business Person
One (1) Consumer
Two (2) Per government entity (Ordinance #15,301)
MEETINGS: Fourth Tuesday of Each Month
MEMS Office
1101 West 8th Street
8:30 AM

Current Members

Bill Bowers
(Business Person)
6520 Tulip Circle
Little Rock, AR 72209
(501) 413-8601
Term Expires: 7-5-2019

Scott Gordon 
(Health Care Administrator)
Arkansas Children's Hospital
800 Marshall Street, Slot 301
Little Rock, AR 72202
(501) 364-1413
Term Expires: 7-5-2019

Dr. Chuck Mason
(Practicing Licensed Medical Doctor)
10 Cascade Creek
Little Rock, AR 72223
(501) 821-1960
(501) 821-7763
Term Expires: 7-5-2019

Christian O'Neal
4 Trefny Court
Little Rock, AR 72211
(501) 831-5483
Term Expires: 7-5-2020

Jennifer Pierce
Mitchell Williams Law
425 West Capitol Avenue, Suite 1800
Little Rock, AR 72201
(501) 688-8859
Term Expires: 7-5-2019

City Director Lance Hines
(Board of Directors Liaison)
Little Rock City Hall
500 West Markham Street, Suite 203
Little Rock, AR  72201
(501) 371-4510
Term Expires:  12-31-2020