Parks and Recreation Commission

Welcome to Little Rock Parks & Recreation!

Turning Little Rock into a "City in a Park"

No matter where you live in Little Rock you're only minutes from the wide open spaces of a City Park – and some of the most fun things to do in Little Rock! Whether you live in downtown, midtown, north, south, east, west or southwest, you’re not far from the best free family fun in Little Rock. Our city is nestled among a profusion of green open spaces and natural areas set aside for recreational, educational, ecological and aesthetic benefits for the people who live here to enjoy at their leisure. Little Rock's parks system is not only a source of pride for the city, but it has received national recognition for excellence! Little Rock Parks & Recreation became the 30th agency in the United States to receive accreditation of Park and Recreation Agencies. Come find family fun in Little Rock at one of our many park

The Little Rock Parks and Recreation Commission meets the Second Wednesday of Each Month at 12:00 pm. Location TBA.

 

For More Information

John Eckart, Director
Little Rock Parks and Recreation Department
500 West Markham Street, Room 108
Little Rock, AR 72201
(501) 371-4770
jeckart@littlerock.gov

AUTHORITY:
Ordinance No. 18,803 (January 7, 2003); Ordinance No. 19,211 (October 5, 2004)
 
TERM:
Three (3) Years
 
MEMBERS:
Eleven (11)
 
DUTIES:
To review, consult, and advise the City on matters concerning the operation and maintenance of the Parks and Recreation department and on matters pertaining to the implementation of the Master Parks Plan, and significant issues involving or affecting these matters shall be referred to and considered by the Commission prior to consideration by the Little Rock City Board of Directors.
 
SELECTION:
Members of this Commission are appointed by the Little Rock City Board of Directors.
MEETINGS:
Second Wednesday of Each Month at 12:00 PM
Location TBA (different location each month)
 
CONTACT:
John Eckart, Director
Little Rock Parks and Recreation Department
500 West Markham Street, Room 108
Little Rock, AR 72201
(501) 371-4770
jeckart@littlerock.gov

Current Members

Ren Bressinck
wrbressinck@icloud.com
Term Expires: 1-31-2021

Matt Buie

matt.buie@gmail.com
Term Expires: 1-31-2021

David Coleman
dacoleman624@gmail.com
Term Expires:  1-31-2021

Jesse Gibson
JesseJGibson@me.com
Term Expires: 1-31-2020

Tim Heiple
tim@hwarch.com
Term Expires: 1-31-2020

Grayson Hinojosa
graysonh@pulaskipa.org
Term Expires:  1-31-2021

Mark Miller
Mmillerhog10@gmail.com
Term Expires: 1-31-2021

Demetria Murdock
demetriamurdock@aol.com
Term Expires:  1-31-2022

Michael Nichols
kappamike1@yahoo.com
Term Expires: 1-31-2021

Bill Simpson
simpson_bill@att.net
Term Expires:  1-31-2021

John Thomas
jomthomas12@gmail.com
Term Expires: 1-31-2020

City Director Capi Peck
(Board of Directors Liaison)
board@littlerock.gov
Term Expires:  12-31-2020

City Director Doris Wright
(Board of Directors Liaison)
board@littlerock.gov
Term Expires:  12-31-2020